Texas has established guidelines for how much child support should be. In Texas, except in rare cases, only the income of the person paying child support is considered. For most people earning under $150,000, the payor will be ordered to pay roughly the following percentages of their after-tax income
1 child 20%
2 children 25%
3 children 30%
4 children 35%
5 or more children 40%
The person paying child support is also usually ordered to pay for the children to have medical and dental insurance, and that cost is deducted from their income before child support is calculated. If the person paying child support has children with someone else, the percent of income ordered will be lowered. The Texas Attorney General has a calculator taking into account these factors than can give you a closer idea of what guideline child support will look like here.
After someone earns $9200 in after tax income per month (roughly $150,000 per year) the percentages are no longer automatically applied, and the court is instead instructed to look at the actual needs of the child. In most cases, the courts tend to follow closely to the guidelines, and they are reluctant to order child support based on more than $9200 per month. An experienced family law attorney can help you decide if your case is one where the court is likely to award child support based on more than $9200 per month, even if the court may order child support in a greater amount than the percentage guidelines.
The court is instead instructed to look at the actual needs of the child.
If you are paying child support above the guidelines above, visit with an attorney to discuss how you can get your child support reduced.
If there are special circumstances, such as the other parent moving far away, or visitation not following the current order, the court may also consider going outside the guidelines. Again, this is a situation that you need to discuss with an experienced family law attorney.
The court may also consider going outside the guidelines.